Soda+Lime+Fire=Art

Not-so-daily bits and pieces about my art, stuff for sale, and every day epiphanies

A rose is a rose. October 4, 2007

Filed under: Lampworking — pyropagan @ 2:22 pm
Tags: , , ,

My first blog here, so bear with me til I get everything figured out! πŸ™‚

If you browse the US handmade lampwork category on eBay, or lampwork artist’s sites, you’ll see that many are named, like paintings, or sculptures. I’ve had people ask why we name our beads. After all, they are only beads, right? To the buyer, they are, but to the artist, they are our art. The inspiration for a bead isn’t necessarily clear when you look at a bead. Well, actually, most of the time, you can’t tell what on earth the artist was thinking when they made it! Giving them a name… well, there are a few reasons.

1. It’s a description. Color, shape, or materials, perhaps.

2. It helps create a picture in the mind of the viewer of what you were thinking when the artist made the bead.

3. Grouping- these particular beads might be in a particular style group that the artist creates, or a theme.

Sometimes when I’m working on a set of beads, all of a sudden, the name will pop into my head and I’ll have to write it down so I remember it when I put it up for auction. Other times, I have to wrack my brain for a suitable name!

Calaveras Tontos

Calaveras Tontos

What else is going on right now? Ahh, today I made papier mache paste and sculpted a sacred heart base for a bead shadowbox. I’ve got the bead to go in it, now I just have to wait for it to dry so I can paint it! This is my first papier mache since… 5th grade? LOL Now we’ll see if I can still paint… πŸ˜‰ I’ve got knitting projects, a few new bag ideas (oh, am I ever a bagaholic!), new ideas for beads, and all kinds of other little things I want to try… Can someone arrange a few extra hours a day?!

 

3 Responses to “A rose is a rose.”

  1. I love these beads! Great name too πŸ˜‰

  2. DChase Says:

    Those beads are great, I have some in a different theme. I love them!

  3. Jackie Mixon Says:

    I really like those beads. Remind me a little of Day of the Dead handiwork. Name is good too. I wanna see the paper mache shadow box. What a great idea. You sound like me crafts, knitting (I knit socks), felting, beadmaking.


Leave a Reply

